Meeting Register Page

Meeting banner
Cinematic Overtures: How to Read Opening Scenes
June 15, 2021, Tuesday, 7:00pm (CET), 6pm (WET), and 8pm (EET) a conversation with Columbia University Film Professor Annette Insdorf. She received her PhD from Yale University, and teaches film history and criticism at Columbia, where she served as the Director of Undergraduate Film Studies. She is the author of the book, Double Lives, Second Chances: The Cinema of Krzysztof Kieslowski, and she provided the audio commentary for the American DVD editions of Three Colors and The Double Life of Veronique. She is also the author of Francois Truffaut, Indelible Shadows: Film and Holocaust, Philip Kaufman, Intimations: The Cinema of Wojciech Has, and Cinematic Overtures: How to Read Opening Scenes. She has participated as a jury member at the Berlin Film Festival, among others, and is the Moderator of the annual Telluride Film Festival. Prof. Insdorf is also the executive producer of the Academy Award nominated short film Shoeshine. She is the host of the "Reel Pieces" series at Manhattan's 92nd Street Y, where she has interviewed over 300 film celebrities.

Prof. Insdorf's presentation is related to her latest book, Cinematic Overtures. She will focus on films of the 1970s in which music plays a major role. Her talk, entitled "The Gradual Reveal and the Musical Score," will include clips from THE CONFORMIST, THE HOURGLASS SANATORIUM, AGUIRRE: THE WRATH OF GOD, APOCALYPSE NOW, and TAXI DRIVER. For more information about Cinematic Overtures - and to purchase the book - please go to https://cup.columbia.edu/book/cinematic-overtures/9780231182256 Andrea Mandel-Mantello, president of Yale Club of Italy, will lead the talk with Prof. Insdorf.
Meeting logo
Loading
* Required information